Home > Writing > Launch Day – 7:45AM

Launch Day – 7:45AM

Every now and again, Pandora’s selection algorithm gives perfect voice to the screaming inside my head. It’s rare, but much like an alien abduction during a solar eclipse, it can and does happen. I suppose it’s only appropriate that it happened today of all days.

“Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”

I’ve been stewing about today for months. Ever since I got word from Angry Robot that my debut novel would hit the (North American) streets on this date, it has been fixed in my mind as a Rubicon of authorly fate. Once today rolled around, everything would be different. My life as an unpublished novelist would be over. Now that today is here, I can go into a bookstore, point to Chris McGrath’s cover art, and claim the words behind it as mine. People might even pay money to read those words, and some of that money might find its way to me. Citizens of the United States or Canada can pick up that book and read it. Those words–my words–may have an impact on them, whether that impact be amusement, sadness, anger, distaste, fear, or just plain entertainment. Not everyone will like it. Not everyone has. Some people will love it. My novel’s exposure is now only limited by language barrier; anyone who can read English may come across it, read it, and form an opinion.

I’m not really sure how I feel about that.

Prevalent wisdom says fuck that noise. I should just write what I want to write, and to hell with what anyone else thinks. To a large extent, I’ve already done that. Weird Westerns aren’t exactly a guaranteed hit, but they’re what I wanted to write. I don’t regret a single moment spent writing The Dead of Winter or She Returns From War. Sure, they aren’t perfect, but I’m damn proud of them. That feeling of accomplishment, of having reached a milestone in life that few attain, is impervious; nothing anyone says can mar that. No matter what else happens in my life, no matter where I find myself doing, no matter how much I hate it, I still got a fucking book published.

That’s right, Success Kid. We are both winners.

On the other hand, I got a fucking book published. That means that anyone at all can judge its merits using whatever standard they see fit. They are free to loathe everything I’ve accomplished and possibly my existence for bringing my books into the world in the first place. That kind of exposure leaves me feeling, well, exposed. I’ve lived on the Internet long enough to understand the tendency of people to be shitheads, but now I’m a possible target for that shitheadery. Despite my cool affectation, I’m as human as anybody else. If my books receive overwhelmingly negative responses, I’m not sure how that will impact me. That uncertainty lends a good deal of apprehension to today’s celebratory mood. Then again, so did the giant wolf spider that watched me shower this morning.

All that to say, I found it extremely appropriate that Pandora chose to open my work day with Nightwish’s Ghost Love Score followed by The Black Mages performing Seymour’s fight theme. The two songs played back-to-back made for a nice auditory expression of the various emotions vying for control of my thoughts.

All that matters is who’s at the helm

If you’re interested in contributing to my visceral maelstrom, you may do so by picking up a copy of The Dead of Winter straight from the source and passing your own judgment.

Categories: Writing
  1. October 30, 2012 at 8:59 AM

    Congratulations! I got an advance copy for review, and really enjoyed it (my review is here http://wp.me/p2s3sT-as). I’m looking forward to She Returns from War next year!

    • October 30, 2012 at 10:26 AM

      Thanks for the great review, Mike! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. fuonlyknew
    October 30, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    I just hopped over from My Bookish Ways blog post to say Congratulations! I’ve read and reviewed several books that take place in the old west with supernatural or horror elements to them. I loved them. Your cover art is very edgy. I like it. And of course I want to dive right in. As soon as my book budget gets refilled(went overbaord!) I will nab The Dead of Winter and get back to you when I’m ready to review it. The new year is just around the corner, so won’t have have to wait too long for book two:)
    Does your wolf spider have a name or was he an uninvited visitor?

    • October 31, 2012 at 4:33 PM

      Thank you! The wolf spider has advanced to the rank of tolerated roommate: as long as he earns his keep and doesn’t bother us, he’s welcome to stay.

  1. February 7, 2013 at 8:02 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

