Home > Writing > NaNoWriMo – The Obligatory Post

NaNoWriMo – The Obligatory Post

NaNoWriMo is a beast of a thing by layman standards. 1,667 words per day with self-flagellation lurking around every corner and public humiliation perched in the rafters, watching you stumble through the darkness. They are waiting for you to fail, ready to consume your soft, fleshy bits if you so much as think of stopping.

He's watching you take that "bathroom" break

Despite this, hundreds of thousands of people lock themselves in a room with these monsters for 30 days each year. Some hope that they will emerge on the other end with something publishable. For others, it is a challenge: can they outrun the skittering feet in the darkness? Still others use it as a socializing tool, trolling the forums ad nauseum and making it to every write-in and party their local coordinators can put together.

Two years ago, I bested the challenge put forth by Chris Baty and his collective of amiable minions and stood victorious on December 1 with 50,000 words of my first manuscript completed. It was a torturous experience. My girlfriend can attest to my surliness, lack of proper hygiene, and failure to participate in anything entertaining. My memories of it are somewhat hazy; I recall shouting, blood, and the sound of my own bones breaking. Shadowy things laughed as they poked me with spears, and I wept at the cruelty of the world.

So let’s do it again. I’m registered as Samovar on the NaNo website; feel free to buddy up. I want as many people as possible to witness my failure should things go awry (I promise, the failure will be spectacular). Should we win the day, the 4th of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the people of Earth said something about not going quietly into the night. We will not vanish without a fight. We’re going to live on. We’re going to survive. Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!

Yes, Bill Pullman’s POTUS from Independence Day is my shining example of determination and courage in the face of overwhelming odds.

This man embodies inspiration. Or he just ate some bad egg rolls.

Categories: Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

